Daily Archives: October 28, 2020

Learning Project – New Resources.

This week for my learning project, I decided to see what else is out there that can help me on my learning how to embroider journey. I have been leaning on YouTube videos a lot but I know there has to be more options out there. I decided to checkout other blogs and here is what I came across.

  1. Martha Stewart

Probably the queen of crafts, of course Martha Stewart has a website and a Embroidery how-to page. I found this website helpful for giving me new ideas for what I can use for different patterns and designs. There was items she mentioned that I would of never thought of to gain inspiration from, like using old Christmas cards and tracing those for a new design. On the embroidery how-to page she does have some stitches, I wouldn’t say it’s the best tool for learning how to embroider as I believe it is easier to follow a video instead pictures. Martha’s website also offers multiple other tutorials for crafts, DIY’s, entertaining, food, home and the list goes on, definitely a handy site for a lot of different things.

2. Sublime Stitching

One blog I came across is Sublime Stitching. Different to Martha’s website, Sublime Stitching focuses on embroidery and different types of stitching only. I really liked the layout of this website, the author shows projects made solely with a certain stitch, and the stitching tutorials come with multiple pictures. This will definitely be a website I will continue to use during my learning project. The website also offers products you can buy including, patterns, thread, books, tools and textiles you can embroider on and workshops you can attend.

3. The Spruce Crafts

Spruce Crafts focuses on all things crafts with embroidery being one of them. They offer embroidery tutorial pages with detailed pictures and text on how to complete certain stitches. They also offer plenty of designs, patters and ideas for your projects. This is definitely a handy website for any type of craft you want to make and has heaps of holiday crafts ideas as well. The only thing I did not like about this site was I found the pages to be a bit hectic at time’s with a lot going on, the other website’s had a cleaner layout which is something I prefer.

While all three website’s include useful information, I think I will be using Sublime Stitching the most. For me the tutorial on this site was the most user friendly and their examples are something I can draw inspiration from to help me on my learning project.

That is all for this week!

Nelly